Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

3/4" copper loop off 6"(?) pipe former gravity loop: how to increase flow?

Nom_Deplume
Nom_Deplume Member Posts: 91
In our basement we have big fat (maybe 6") supply and return pipes. At one point 3/4" copper pipes branch off from these and go straight up to the 2nd floor, where they feed a Runtal baseboard in a bathroom. The baseboard does get warm, but the bathroom is colder than other rooms. The baseboard is properly sized for the room.

I'm not an expert, but I'm not at all sure what drives water up to the 2nd floor baseboard. Sure, there is a circulator on the formerly-gravity loop, but the 3/4" loop is long and thin while the formerly-gravity pipes are huge so you wouldn't think much water would divert to the 3/4" pipes. Maybe gravity, rather than the circulator, drives circulation in this loop since there is a 2-floor height advantage.

In any case my question is, how can I increase the flow and will it help to do it? I can put in a circulator in this loop, but it's a long way to run AC from the boiler. Plus, the baseboard has a TRV (now opened wide) and when(if) it shuts off it will kill the circulator. Are there any other ideas? many thanks,

Comments

• Don_197
    Don_197 Member Posts: 184
    is there any way to restrict flow on the larger supply pipe just downstream of the 3/4" takeoff? (I doubt it....that would be a BIG VALVE.....never hurts to ask) other than that.......you could but a circulator on that loop...........the smallest wimpiest one you can find. Be careful!! messing with a converted gravity system can have LOTS of unforeseen effects on the rest of the system.
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,440
    Properly Sized - Maybe not.