Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Cut Grooves for Pex Tubing into Concrete Slab

Options
dlnjapan
dlnjapan Member Posts: 3
I'm a newbie (first timer on this forum) with a 1970s ranch style house with concrete slab. I'm itching to pull up all the carpet and install porcelain or ceramic tile throughout the house. Prior to that, however, I'd like to assess the feasibility of installing hydronic tubing in the original concrete slab. To avoid raising the floor level much, is there any reason not to cut grooves down into the concrete slab to accommodate the PEX tubing layout and then pour a minimal layer of concrete or similar material over the entire layout and then tile the floors? I know it would be labor intensive to cut the grooves, but couldn't it be done? If so, what potential problems might I run into and later regret? I am considering a solar water heating system to offset heating costs, so heat loss from slab to ground is not as big a concern, I assume. I live in sunny San Antonio, TX, where solar heat is an excellent option, and extreme cold temps are a rarity. We're more interested in hydronic heating for the comfort of not having cold tile floors in winter and for all the other benefits it provides as an alternative heating system. I'm a DIYer with a professional background in lawn irrigation, but would consider professional help for parts of the project if necessary. I would appreciate hearing thoughtful advice on the pros and cons of cutting grooves down into the existing slab. Thank you.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,335
    Options
    I can think of a few considerations

and I'm sure the radiant heating folks will come up with  more...

First, you are going to create an unbelievable amount of dust.  Like really unbelievable.  This may or may not be a consideration for you.