Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

why wont this work

Options
Boston_2
Boston_2 Member Posts: 107
I have a seriously oversized boiler used with a 3 zone baseboard hot water system. 133,000 btu. When I have been told that 50 to 60k will be fine. We now just got the whole house insulated. I have an extra 50k hot water tank. Can I use this as boiler in posse of the beast? I guess as a layman I am not clear on why a hot water tank wouldn't work.

Comments

• SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Options
    Short answer

While the water heater won't make a decent boiler, it could well make a decent buffer tank.  Depending on your fuel costs and seasonal heat load, a properly sized mod/con boiler might make sense.
  • jumper
    jumper Member Posts: 2,248
    edited December 2013
    Options
    what baseboard?

Doesn't it depend on kind of baseboard? Won't iron baseboard work with low temperature from a domestic water heater? Especially in a modernized house in balmy boston? I don't know but I've thought about using a water heater as a heating boiler.
  • Boston_2
    Boston_2 Member Posts: 107
    Options
    Circulator

A hot water tank can get close to 150 degree's can't they?  On the lower side for the required temp, but still in the range correct? Also if i use delta T circulators with no set back on my t-stat would it be able to hold the temp?  Although the tank isn't an efficient as a boiler doesn't it have better insulation than a boiler. My concern was around if i could get enough flow out of the tank's 3/4 connection to supply 3 zones.  I guess i'm still not sure why more people haven't tried this since hot water tanks can be so cheap.
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,376
    Options
    Why