Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

radiant heating problem

broke
broke Member Posts: 21
 Hi guys i have been fighting this problem for 3 years now and ready to give up, I have a 2800 sq house with in slab radiant heat 3 zones. Two zones have 4 loops and each loop is 300 feet the third loop is 3 loops also 300 feet per loop. All pipe in the slab is 1/2 pex for a total of 3300 feet total. My boiler is a weil mclain ultra 230 with a water ingection system that I had add last winter.The problem that I have is my propane consuption is high. I burn 9 gallons of every night no matter what the temp is out side 50 deg or 20 deg until it gets way colder then it goes up. I had to put heaters in the kids rooms and I  turned 2 zones off  other than livingroom and  still burns 9 gal per night .

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,462
    I presume...

that you did the installation? What did you do for insulation? That would be in the walls , the ceiling and most important the slab.... that is in the floor and on the perimeter? kpc
  • broke
    radiant floor problems

I had a heating contractor do it. He used reflectex bubble insulation under slab.The house is sips panel 6and1/2 wall solid styroform the windows are pella pro-line we spent alot of money to make the house the most efficient place we could. I should probably add that he installed the boiler backwards to begin with,took hin 3 months to figure that out.
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,462
    edited November 2010
    bummer...

reflectix (in my opinion) in junk. it really does not insulate at all. maybe r-1 value. There was actually "lawsuit" about false advertisement.... any perimeter foam?  maybe put down some more/ any. All your energy is going down and out. ...Here is a blog for some more info.