Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I want to install a new boiler myself.

13»

Comments

• gehring_3
    gehring_3 Member Posts: 74
    Option B

Going back to your original complaint that "flames shot out from underneath" and there was some water under the boiler...

You may not need an entirely new boiler and you should ask your next pro when he shows up for the appointment accordingly. For example, the puddle of water could have come from some minor pipe leak nearby or even from condensation. The flames could have been from a dirty, scaled, or rusted out burner assembly.

I am not a pro, but I do have some experience with gas fired boilers and I know a dirty, rusty burner assembly will produce an erratic flame.

Ask your pro to check those items out and perhaps you might be lucky enough to get by this winter simply with some new parts rather than a whole new boiler.

In any case, if you are clueless as to the workings of gas appliances then do not attempt this yourself as I personally know of someone who blew up his house and almost killed himself because he didn't know what he was doing.
  • Mark Eatherton1
    Mark Eatherton1 Member Posts: 2,542
    No excuse...

for poor customer service. Unfortunately, I get it (poor service) from just about any one entity I use at least once a day. I know people in Colorado who are considering moving back home (Boston) just for the better customer service! And even I (GASP:-O) have been guilty of poor customer service. You're right, crap happens, and sometimes you get hung up helping people in dire need (I.E. no heat with water damage occuring) and forget to take care of your commitments. Customer service means calling the customer and letting them know your status. If they can't wait, it wasn't meant to be... NEXT!!

ME