Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lochinvar / Knight Boiler 80-285 Issues

Comments

• arcticpenguin
    arcticpenguin Member Posts: 61
    edited September 23

yes what setting on the multi meter, 12VAC?

let me ask you this…if i were to start replacing parts, assuming something has failed, where would you start?

i may have to try to reach out to someone locally…the only thing i am afraid of is being taken advantage of and ending up paying a ton to fix a simple issue. i am a field tech, that's my day job but i don't work on anything that doesn't use the internet and have a hard drive normally..but not a boiler tech :-P

i am trying to be informed as possible so if i do call a tech, i will half way know what i'm talking about and less chance of getting bs run around or over charged…

and of course wanting an inexpensive solution being a underpaid single parent.

i will not put myself in too too much danger..

• neilc
    neilc Member Posts: 2,767

up at the ceiling,

the big green thing is an expansion tank,

to the right of it I see a small red tee handle on an open drain, it's a 1/4 turn to full open, careful now,

just nudge it open and see if there is air there, a bucket is your friend,

and there is a picture of one end of your baseboard, are there any other fittings at the far end, an air valve or vent?

known to beat dead horses
    arcticpenguin
  • arcticpenguin
  • arcticpenguin

Here are the two ends of one of the naked baseboards in the basement

• arcticpenguin

Dirty water came out when I started opening the red t-handle

• arcticpenguin

these photos make my house look like a total dump, but it's truly not =D i promise

• neilc

This is 120 volts, ONE HUNDRED and Twenty ! not 12, be careful,