Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

dP Bypass Valve with a Delta T pump?

Options
ldipierro
ldipierro Member Posts: 10
Hello everyone. I am in the process of installing a new hydronic heating system in my home and have a question that I cannot find any specific info for online. I have already installed the boiler (mod con), primary loop, and a Caleffi SEP4 separator so that I could run the boiler for domestic hot water. I am now working on the secondary side throughout this summer. Later today I'll post a photo of the install so far. FYI I am a boiler technician and HVAC contractor but my area of expertise is mostly large industrial steam boilers and control systems. I am not a residential hydronic expert. On to my question:

The secondary loop I'm installing off of the separator is 1.25" pipe and will have 4 zone valves (Honeywells) with a single Taco 00e delta T circulator. My question is, is it necessary or would it be a good idea for me to pipe in a differential pressure bypass valve? I understand with a dP pump that it isn't necessary, but I would imagine a dT pump takes a while to ramp down when zones close since it is relying on temperature rather than pressure. I'm thinking the dP bypass might crack open for a short period of time immediately after zones close. But then again I don't know much about how those dT circs actually work, so maybe it just isn't necessary. Any feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,886
    edited May 2023
    Options