Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pipe sizing

dante421
dante421 Member Posts: 13
Hello, 
   I bought an old farm house (1760) that had no heat installed. There is an oil furnace and a bunch of various sized cast iron radiators spaced throughout the house. I did some quick calculations and placed the radiators around the house to accommodate each room properly (or so I think) I am very new to dealing with cast iron rads or heating systems in general but I’m learning. The house is a two story maybe 1500 sq ft. I am going to do 3 zones. One for upstairs which I am just using the standard baseboard heating as I don’t have enough rads and it’s very small up there. Then I am splitting the downstairs into two separate zones due to the layout of the house and a fireplace being on one half to help heat that side. Each zone will have 4-5 radiators of various sizes. All around 2’ tall x 3’ wide x 6” deep.  I know I should provide more info as far as sizing but I am not at the place and would like to purchase all material and have in hand my next trip up. 
    So, my question is.... if I am doing a 2 pipe reverse return for each of the 2 downstairs zones, is 1/2” oxygen barrier pex suffice? Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    Ideally you would calculate the flow to each radiator -- which involves the heat you want the radiator to put out and the temperature of the water being supplied -- and figure your pipe sizes based on that.

In my own opinion, and others may differ, you may find that to get the heat output you want in colder weather that the required temperatures will push the temperature limits of PEX -- of any size. If you install it in troughs, rather than just hang it, you can go higher, but... hmm.