Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Loop seal on condensate tank??

jlt83
jlt83 Member Posts: 9
I’m new to steam heat and to my home. I have Weil-McLain egh-95 boiler and about 1,750 of radiator EDR (so I think the boiler maybe under sized - but that is not the main subject of this post). The piping is complex (not the original boiler). The only vent for the system is at the condensate tank. The returns coming to the tank meet together on the floor and then raise up 18 inches to the top on the tank (creating a loop seal). As best as I can tell the boiler runs until is producing 10 oz of pressure, at which point it can force the condensate into the tank and vent itself. This continues in cycles until all the steam traps close (I assume) and the pressure reaches 11 or 12 oz and the vaporstat shuts down the boiler. On a related note, after the thermometer stops calling for heat and the boiler cools, a vacuum is created in the boiler. I added a vacuum breaker to the boiler to stop it from sucking water from the condensate tank into the boiler (flooding the boiler) - which is how the system previously was relieving the vacuum (this also indicated to me that there were no other (working?) vents other then the loop sealed condensate tank.

My question is: Is piping like this good / standard / OK / safe? What ought I be looking for? What ought I consider changing? (Note: after the F&T trap on the main supply line there in not a vent - just a drop into the wet return on the floor).

Comments

• clammy
    clammy Member Posts: 3,103