Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New Steam boiler issues

SamG
SamG Member Posts: 20
edited October 2022 in Strictly Steam

I am a plumber with 40+ years experience installing boilers but I’m stumped and am asking for help resolving new install issues.

A customer came to me and asked for a price to replace a leaking 25 yr old 88 series Weil McClain steam boiler serving an apt house. He also requested that I reuse a 1 yr old gas Powerflame burner.

I surveyed the apts, counted radiators, and determined that the existing boiler was twice as big as the attached load. I recommended a Smith 19-6, explained to the customer that he might also require a feed water tank with pump if the boiler had low water/flooding issues. I received the project and replaced the boiler.

Just in case I needed to add a feed water tank after the install, I used a 150 lwco/pump control with an electronic feeder and time delay to prevent flooding instead of a 51-2.
The original near boiler piping had the header take-offs between the boiler risers which I corrected in the new installation
Due to potential flooding of the boiler area, I raised the boiler up on blocks. This brought me to 22” from the waterline to header, so I installed drop L risers to increase the height and create drier steam.
My 3” risers and 4” header feed the original 5” header and I corrected the Hartford loop height.

Upon firing the original burner, I discovered that the installed orafice actually supplied less mbh that my new boiler( indirectly confirming the required load). I corrected the firing rate and placed the boiler on line.