Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Outdoor Wood Boiler With Short Run on a Heat Exchange

sniz
sniz Member Posts: 8
I'm shopping for an OWB and only need it to run about 75 feet to our utility room where it will connect to a heat exchanger. I'm assuming I wouldn't need a very big OWB but I would still want a very efficient one. I'm new to this OWB world and have some questions.

1. How often would I need to fill it?

2. Can you stop a OWB for a week and start it again the next week? Our weather fluctuates and I would imagine we wouldn't need to heat the water if we have an electrical backup that would be enough while the weather is up.

3. What OWB would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    First, before you go any farther, check your local codes. Not all jurisdictions permit outdoor wood boilers, and some have restrictions on them. Best to get that sorted first.

The size boiler you need is determined by the heat loss which you are trying to power. Distance has nothing to do with it.

How often would you need to fill it? Most likely at least every day, and in most cases twice a day. It depends, of course, on how hard it is firing and how big it really is.

Can you start and stop a wood boiler? Sure. Just let the fire go out. It can't be done quickly -- it may take hours to cool down -- but it's not hard.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    sniz
  • leonz
    leonz Member Posts: 1,096
    edited May 2022
    sniz said: