Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ultra-fin a good system?

shavano
shavano Member Posts: 2
I’m new to the world of radiant heating. New house in upstate NY, builder is suggesting we use Ultra-fin. I’m a bit skeptical since the tubing and plates are not physically attached to the floor, wouldn’t that be a better system?

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    edited May 2022
    It depends on the type of boiler that’s used. Ultra Fin is designed for high supply water temps. If you were putting in an oil fired boiler that ran at 160-180*, then it might be a viable option. If you’re installing a mod/con gas boiler, then it’s a terrible choice since mod/cons run more efficient at the lowest supply water temps.

Let me caution you here: proper design is essential to getting a radiant floor that performs correctly; it’s not just a matter of hanging tubing and connecting it to a boiler.

The average plumber, HVAC guy or builder is clueless about properly designing and installing a radiant floor - but they THINK that they know how to do it.

There some men on here that offer radiant design services and you’d be well served by using one. It would be much less expensive than having it done wrong then having to pay to correct it.

Of course, several on here are glad to offer free advice, but that’s not the same as design service.

@Steve Minnich is one.
    @Rich_49 is another.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
    kcoppshavanoGroundUpRich_49
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,024