Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Underfloor heating with boiler and thermostat

viliusss
viliusss Member, Email Confirmation Posts: 1
edited September 2021 in Radiant Heating
Hey guys, recently bought a new apartment, and I'm a bit confused with the heating, since it's my first time owning my own place. So I have a gas boiler, which heats the water that heats the floor, obviously. I've read that the optional water temperature is between 95 to 130, something like that. So the main question is, if I have a thermostat in every room that you can control for the room temperature you like, why the water temperature matters? I mean, if I set it to the higher 130, does the rooms just heat faster? Or should I keep the lower 95, how do these things affect my heating and temperatures?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    Fundamentally, underfloor -- radiant -- heating is intended to maintain the space temperature, but is not well suited to raising that temperature. Depending on the way it's set up, it can take hours... or longe! -- to respond to a change.

Ideally the circulating water temperature is set "just right" to do that, so that water circulates all the time and maintains the floor at an even temperature. That's the ideal. In practice, that doesn't always work, so it will usually be set slightly higher than necessary, and a room temperature thermostat can be used to turn off the circulation when the room is warm enough.

Now it is quite true that a higher circulating water temperature will make the floor hotter, and thus the room will heat up faster. However, there is very much a limit to how hot the floor can be, both in terms of the impact on flooring materials and in terms of comfort. A floor surface temperature of around 80 seems to be about the upper limit in terms of comfort.