Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Better way to change strainer on 2 pipe

Options
CometoJesus
CometoJesus Member Posts: 3
edited August 2021 in Oil Heating
Hey guys newbie here been doing oil for about a month and was wondering what the best way to change a strainer on a 2 pipe system, I was told to take the pump off the burner and do it quickly over a bucket if any one has any more efficient ways I'd appreciate hearing them

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,519
    Options
    If the return line runs to the bottom of the tank oil may sylphon back through the return. That's why I always put a check valve on the return regardless of any incoming flack.

So that's the choice. Over a bucket could get messy every time. Putting in a check will be messy once, and maybe not at all if you can cut into the return up high
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    Options
    Flack!...lol
    First, does it have to be 2 pipe?
    It depends on how the pipes relate to the tank. If it's a total lift job you should get almost no oil when you crack the strainer.
    I usually fix the oil lines if at all possible to make it easier in the future. It's nice if they don't 90° under the strainer, but either drop 4" or 5" first, or come down and 90° under the burner housing. Not always possible obviously.
    Then I took a little piece of sheet metal (be careful on flex lines) and notched it out, with a little lip on the 'back'. I can slip it between the two port under the pump to channel the oil over the lines and into my little container to catch the oil. I put a rag under the sheet metal to hold it in place and catch anything that may try to get thru. A little magnet in the right spot on the back helps it stick to the motor.
    steve
    Canucker
  • EBEBRATT-Ed