Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Question about hot water recirculation system...

edsut
edsut Member Posts: 45
Hi,
I am about to install a hot-water recirculation pump that uses the cold water line as the return half of the loop. I see these kits from WATTS (https://www.amazon.com/Watts-500800-Instant-Recirculating-Install/dp/B000E78XHG) and I've been youtubing for a few hours, so of course now I'm an expert (hopefully there's some obvious sarcasm noted there)...

Anyway, as I understand it, the sensor-bypass-valve under the sink (that connects the hot back to the cold) opens when the water is cold to allow that water to feed back to the water heater. When it gets hot enough, the bypass valve closes and the hot water is now immediately available to the faucet above. That makes sense. The part that confuses me is when the sensor has the bypass valve closed and the faucet is also closed...

What prevents the pump from being on, but the sensor-bypass-valve being closed AND the hot water faucet closed? Does the pump sense the back pressure and automatically shut off?
Thanks in advance...
Ed

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    Doesn't programming the timer control the pump? If it were me I'd plug it in for constant power and run that power in series thru a flow switch, then the sensor. Then when water is flowing and is cold, the circ runs, when the sensor detects heat or flow stops, the circulator would stop.
    steve
  • edsut
    edited May 2021
    Doesn't programming the timer control the pump?
    Yes (AFAIK)
    If it were me I'd plug it in for constant power and run that power in series thru a flow switch, then the sensor. Then when water is flowing and is cold, the circ runs, when the sensor detects heat or flow stops, the circulator would stop.