Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Seeking design advise for subfloor radiant heat install - NJ

Hello Everyone.

I had been introduced to this blog by a friend am posting here the first time.
I am not an experienced professional in this field so please bear with me on the terminology and my understanding. Having said that, I would like to request your input on the project I have started.

I live in 07836 zip in a colonial 2-story house which is 2005 built with energy star rating. I am trying to add radiant heat as a supplemental source to the current forced-air system.
The current air furnace for this zone is rated at 110000 BTU.
I am trying to install an underfloor radiant heating system for the first floor of the house. The first floor has 3/4” Oak hardwood installed on a 23/32” subfloor.

The basement is about 2200 sq ft. with a 9ft ceiling. The joists had fiberglass R-13 insulation and I have taken that out and am planning to eventually replace it with Roxul insulation (> R-13). The walls are uninsulated.
I have bought/installed Noritz CB199-DV(120K BTU capacity output), cleaned up the joists from nails, and put the RadianTec Thermofin plates in the joists. The boiler would be exclusively used for radiant heat application only.
I used watts radiant software for the heat loss calculations, which came out to 60000 BTUH for 70 Delta T.

I have attached a sketch of my design drawing. I would like to request, please, professional feedback/suggestions/critic of the design and installation/missing components, etc to make the design efficient and effective. Thanks.

Comments

• ultimatedesi
    ultimatedesi Member Posts: 7
    Inserting the design diagram.
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    close, but no primary loop circ? One of these 3 would work better.