Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hissing steam radiators

kl89
kl89 Member Posts: 2
Newbie here. I just moved into a new home built in 1920. Some of the radiators were making a loud hissing noise. After some research I replaced the air vent valves using plumbers tape on the threads. Also elevated the sides with the valves like I read to do. One radiator specifically is still very noisy with hissing sounds after changing the vent valve twice and shimming up one side. The steam comes out of the valve making the hissing and leaving water build up on the valve. Does anyone have any recommendations to help before shelling out money to have someone come look at it. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• EzzyT
    EzzyT Member Posts: 1,294
    Start by checking and seeing what the pressuretrol is set at and turn the pressure down. Check and see if there is adequate main venting if there isn’t then add more. 
    You have pictures you can post of the near boiler piping?
    E-Travis Mechanical LLC
    Etravismechanical@gmail.com
    201-887-8856
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    Also make sure the pigtail (looped pipe) that the Pressuretrol is mounted on isn't clogged. If it is, the Pressuretrol can't see the system Pressure to manage it.
  • kl89
    kl89 Member Posts: 2
    How do I know if the pigtail is clogged? It’s warm to the touch but that’s all I can tell

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    What kind of radiator vents are you using and if they are adjustable what are they set to? What pressure does the boiler get to?