Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Can I do a yearly boiler clean out myself?

somekindofpress
somekindofpress Member Posts: 7
edited September 2020 in Strictly Steam
Hey all. I've had my local plumber come in and do a yearly clean out/tune up on my steam boiler since I got it installed in 2018 (Weil McClain). Curious if, because of COVID, I could just do it myself, or if it's just worth it to pay the $ to have someone do it.

I have no experience at all, so I think I know the answer. But maybe it's easier than I thought.

Thanks!

Comments

• ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,695
    edited September 2020
    Hmmm...a plumber? Is it oil, or is it gas? Does he do a combustion check and give you a printout showing the efficiency?

Do you know what he does do to it?
    NJ Steam Homeowner. See my sight glass boiler videos: https://bit.ly/3sZW1el
    mattmia2
  • Honestly, no, I have no clue. I know he drains it and adds something to it that turns the vial blue/green. He told me to flush it a bit every 2 weeks and add new water once that color goes away. But it never went away.

It's natural gas.
  • mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,574
    edited September 2020
    Someone should be flushing the base of the boiler and the returns annually along with testing and cleaning the safeties. Cleaning the combustion side probably can be done every couple years.
  • Danny Scully
    Danny Scully Member Posts: 1,416
    Well one thing is for sure, do not have him service your boiler again @somekindofpress. None of the things he does or recommends should ever be done. Where are you located? 
  • gfrbrookline
    gfrbrookline Member Posts: 753