Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

GruvLock Copper Fitting out of round - Machined back to spec?

mchisomjr
mchisomjr Member Posts: 2
Hello. Novice here. A Question for experts regarding an 8" GruvLok Copper Tee GxGxG.

One end has slightly deflected making it out of round...just enough to notice. What is the best way to bring it back to spec? Is it worth doing?

Comments

• ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,616
    I wouldn't chance it. Any issues & you'd be liable, at least if the mfgr found out about it.
  • GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,889
    Send it back to the wholesale house and take a new one
  • mchisomjr
    mchisomjr Member Posts: 2
    This is old stock.....cant send it back. This is more of a "what if" for my info. I'm sure the boss is sending everything to scrap.

I was more wondering what your all thoughts were if it could be done and how......I'm sure a really good machine shop could do it with equipment but that would be really expensive.....and then there is the liability.

I was wondering if there was more of a FIELD approach to something like this. I'm sure it has been run into before. Looks like something heavy was on top of the branch of the Tee and slightly made it oblong....just barely.
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,023
    Is it copper or brass? Copper you may be able to massage back to shape, depending on how much it is out of round.

If it is brass I doubt you could do much. Defiantly don’t want to remove any wall thickness by machining, Even a few thousands would decrease the strength and a serious failure could occur.

Ever watch a body guy or dent works person deal with tweaked metal😉
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,575
    hot_rod said:

I