Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Can you replace a 20-yr old Unico system with a Spacepak

Options
My 20-yr old Unico high velocity system needs to be replaced. I was able to get two quotes for replacing the system with a new high-velocity system. The first contractor said that I had to replace with a Unico. The second contractor said it was no problem to replace with Spacepak, and they prefer that system. Also, I had good experience with a Spacepak installation in my previous house, and I have little experience with Unico.

So is it possible to replace the system (reusing the ducts), or was the first contractor right?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,322
    Options
    If the duct sizing, velocities and pressure drop requirements are very similar, I myself don't see why it wouldn't work. But you would be replacing pretty much everything except the ductwork, and the airflows would have to be close.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • clammy
    clammy Member Posts: 3,111
    Options