Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Confused?? Tank empty, but gauge state 1/4 tank, how messed up? why? how can I correct it???

LS123
LS123 Member Posts: 466
I totally emptied oil tank so I could have it moved to another place in the basement. Although there are no oil n the tank, gauge still stay at 1/4 tank full... I am able to tale take gauge out but what do I replace it with so indicate exact ( or approximate amount of oil in the tank?? This is my first time noticing such....
what should I do?? would love to get some feedback on this. Thank you All!!!
Thank you!
@LS123

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,161
    Those gauges are notoriously inaccurate, even the best of them. Amazon has them... just replace it. You can, with patience, make your own calibration chart for it -- read the gauge before you get a delivery, and note the amount delivered. That will work. Until the float sinks or comes off...
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    LS123
  • Big Ed_4
    Big Ed_4 Member Posts: 2,761
    edited May 2020
    The gauge needs to be aligned . The float and linkage type is aligned with the width of the tank . Check the arrow under the plastic dome .. If not aligned the cork float will hang on the bottom curve of the tank .
    I have enough experience to know , that I dont know it all
    LS123
  • HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,804
    Are you positive its empty? Did you measure?

Where is the oil being drawn from? Top or bottom?
    LS123
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,452
    @HVACNUT

Doubt he moved with a 1/4 of a tank in it although I have slid them over enough to get a new tank in the same spot and then transferred the oil I never liked doing it
    LS123
  • LS123