Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

No hot water if recirculating pump is shut off

Nickrnm
Nickrnm Member Posts: 13
Hi, I'm a newbie to the site and saw some familiar posts but they did not actually match my issue. Hopefully this is not a duplicate issue.

I have a 3-year-old recirculating hot water loop that was installed as part of the new house. It appears to be a fairly typical installation. I have a TurboMax 45 Indirect hot water heater with a hot water recirculating loop. The circulator pump is a Taco 006-BC4 and it was hooked up to a simple mechanical timer to shut off for only a few early morning hours. I decided to eliminate the timer and installed a Honeywell L6006C strap-on aquastat to control the hot water recirculating loop pump. I strapped the aquastat to the hot water outlet line and I set it up to turn the pump on when the hot water temperature dropped. It appears to be working fine. It turns the pump on when the temp drops (temp setting minus differential) and shuts the pump off when it rises to the set temperature. Also, there’s a check valve installed between the circulator pump and the cold water inlet to the hot water tank. (photos below) The Aquastat and circulator pump appear to work correctly being I get plenty of hot water to any faucet and get it quickly. I think it also indicates that the check valve is installed correctly being the hot water recirculating return pipe coming from the pump and into the cold water inlet pipe at the hot water tank is hot when the pump is running.