Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Multiple steam system issues - sizing, baseray, copper+iron, etc

Options
SteveZissou
SteveZissou Member Posts: 8
Hello, I finally bought a home with steam heat - an item which I have wanted over the years. I have no steam background but do have very basic furnace and circulated hot water experience. The system, pictured below, seemed to run well enough. The auto water feed ran once a day - which I did not know at the time was an issue. The two 24 foot long baseray runs in the living room didnt get very hot. There was copper and iron pipe living together in the near boiler piping which was exposed when I had an asbestos removal company take all the insulation out of the basement. Finally, a non steam hvac friend pointed out that my 300,000 input boiler was fed by a 1/2" gas line. So as you may have guessed, the boiler started leaking a bunch from a hole in one of the 4 heat exchangers. And upon further inspection two of the burners were burnt up I called in my hvac buddy so we could make a list of what we would need to swap out the boiler so my wife and kids wouldnt freeze during the next month of lockdown. His first comment was that the boiler was twice as big as necessary and did a 5 minute heat loss calc to confirm his theory which from reading HH for 8 hours yesterday I now know to be irrelevant. I come up with about 235,000 doing the square foot of steam calculation. The house is brick 3300 sf 2 floors plus finished attic near Cleveland, Ohio. Two pipe system.
Question one is regarding the baseray (foto below), the square foot of steam seems awefully high compared to the big radiators. Is that correct ?
Question two re the baseray. Do I need to rebuild those as 10 foot runs ? Or is there some way to make the 24 foot runs work ?