Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need to replace: Flair RTU 100b connected to White-Rodgers 3 wire zone valves

coskier
coskier Member Posts: 9
edited February 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
I have a 3 zone boiler/ radiant heat system in my home. The zone valves are White-Rodgers Type 1311-102, 3 wire valves. These are wired into a Flair RTU 100b relay/ transformer that is failing. Had a heating guy come out, and he said that he has to either:
a) pull the 3 wire valves and replace them with 2 wire ones;
b) run an individual relay to each valve.

Either option is going to cost me more than I think it should. For the life of me, I cannot believe that there isn't a suitable replacement for the Flair RTU 100b out there that can work with my boiler and my existing valves.

Any thoughts/ ideas I should be looking at? (I am completely new to this.)

Thank you.

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,572
    1. Please edit to remove prices.
    2. I think you can change the actuators without changing the valves to make it a 2 wire valve.
    3. Others may have an idea of a different zone controller you can replace the Fair with or maybe even replace the relays inside.
    coskierErin Holohan Haskell
  • coskier
    Edited, and thank you.
  • I would think either the Taco ZVC-403 or the Caleffi ZVR103 would work. Both will work with 3-wire zone valves.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • coskier
    Alan - do those have transformers in them? I think that is part of what made the Flair unique. And it is not manufactured anymore.
  • Yes, they both do. Personally, I like the Caleffi because it has more options and the transformer is easily replaced if it goes bad.

• coskier