Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Has anyone ever seen one of these?

So I'm VERY new to steam heat...well I shouldn't say that. I bought my first home and over the last two years I've learned A lot. But I'm starting to think my main vents aren't working as my system pushes out A lot of air. I have two main vents, one on the sending and one on the return elbow. Quick question though. Anyone ever seen one of these? I've can't find it no matter how hard I Google!

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    I recommend that you replace that vent with one, or more Gorton #2’s.
    If this a two pipe Trane system, there may be more to the solution, than that, such as a plugged/missing crossover trap.—NBC
    ethicalpaul
  • dylanbiasutto
    dylanbiasutto Member Posts: 18
    It's A one pip steam system. I was just wondering if anyone had ever seen this brand of main vent. It's huge!
  • unclejohn
    unclejohn Member Posts: 1,833
    Seems to me if it's pushing out A Lot of air it,s working.
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    It’s a Trane main vent, probably 60 or 70 years old, and its time has come. Does it close on steam? Noise of air escaping may have more to do with over-pressure than proof of operation.--NBC
  • Harry_6
    Harry_6 Member Posts: 141