Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Options for a floor heating system

antonvk
antonvk Member Posts: 2
I am very new to radiant floor heating, and I am trying to figure out what heating source options may work for me. I've contacted different contractors, and they give very different recommendations on the heater. I realize there is no perfect solution, and trying to understand pros and cons of various options.

I need to heat 2 rooms in my house. The rest of the house is heated fine by a gas furnace, but these 2 rooms are the farthest from the furnace, and their temperature is typically 3-4 degrees Fahrenheit below the temperature in all other rooms. These 2 rooms are bathroom and a walk-in closet, so I want their temperature to be a few degrees above the temperature in the rest of the house, which likely means that I need to install a separate heat source for them.

The 2 rooms are next to each other (share one wall), both have an attic above and an insulated crawl space below, high ceiling. The bathroom has 3 external walls and 2 large windows, the walk-in closet has 1 external wall and no windows. The bathroom floor space is 200 sq ft, and the walk-in closet floor space is additional 110 sq ft. Depending on the calculator I use, the heat loss from the bathroom is 9-12k BTU/h, and the heat loss from the walk-in closet is 3-6k BTU/h.

The crawl space underneath both rooms is accessible. The bathroom has a tile floor, and the walk-in closet has a carpet. I am not ready to replace the tile in the bathroom (so heater installation between the floor and the subfloor is not an option at this stage), but can replace the carpet in the walk-in closet.