Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How to refill boiler system after draining

JayD
JayD Member Posts: 3
So I have a leak coming from the gate valve that lets the water from the street into my boiler. I’d like to fix it but have no idea how to go about Filling it back up after service. I’m not really good with boilers so please if you can walk me thru how to refill the boiler back up? The only other thing I can note is that the boiler is on 1 single loop around my one story house. It’s not an option for me to call a tech everytime a drip appears on my floor, so that’s out of the question. Also the hvac tech who was here last installed the yellow ball drain valve in one of the pics and used it to take the air out of the system. It worked great and my heat was in all vents and was very quiet. Would love to know how to use that as well. Please explain like you’re talking to a dumb child, which I might as well be when it comes to this. If I need to post more pics please let me know. I appreciate any help I can get.

ing

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    The bigger problem is your venting-boiler and water heater, it's not up to code.
    If I were explaining it to a 'dumb child', I'd say..."Go get an adult". :)
    Your system is very simple to fill/purge thanks to that new valve.
    However, who's going to replace the valve?

You should have an auto feed valve with backflow preventer. A low water cut-off would be wise also.

In your case, you're going to have to drain the system, and shut the water off to then entire house. And if your main shut off doesn't hold, you have more problems.

This is a simple fix for a plumber or hydronics person who will most likely shut the water off, drain the system, press or solder a new shut off/water feed/backflow preventer, and purge the system.