Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

cracked floor slab with in-floor pex

CanadaKeith
CanadaKeith Member Posts: 12
I am a home inspector in the Toronto area. My question is about tolerance of pex in-floor piping to cracking and slight movement of the basement floor slab. Recently I came a cross a basement in-floor radiant system, and there was cracking of the concrete slab and some hollow sounding areas of the slab. This is pretty typical of the poor quality basement slabs here, so it normally is not a big concern, but I was wondering at what point does the cracking and possible slight movement put the pex at risk of damage? The house was about 10 years old. Crack width was perhaps 2-3 mm at the top surface.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,021
    most concrete cracks, as long as the slab doesn't move at the crack you should be okay. Parser test would assure you have tube integrity

As far as hollow sounds, could be the sub-grade wasn't prepared properly, or you have ground water flowing below the slab, washing away the gravel below?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    Zman
  • Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    I've seen slabs with 1/4" vertical differential that didn't pinch or restrict flow. I've also seen 5/8" PEX that was stretched apart on a 300 foot side walks (snowmelt). The slab moved horizontally creating about 3/4" gap and literally stretched the tubing in two. There is a metal access plate there now, along with numerous repair couplings. I call it the continental drift theory...

ME
    It's not so much a case of "You got what you paid for", as it is a matter of "You DIDN'T get what you DIDN'T pay for, and you're NOT going to get what you thought you were in the way of comfort". Borrowed from Heatboy.