Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wood fired boiler connected to Burnham boiler

I have a wood fired boiler that has a Honeywell dual aqua stat L4081B ( I use only one side) to kick on a circulator zone when the wood boiler gets too hot 220. The aqua stat is wired to a TacoSR501. Its worked fine for a few years. Recently, the circulator will not shut off even when changing the settings on the aqua stat. I can hear it click at the aqua stat but yet the circulator does not turn off. Could the problem be the relay in the Taco SR501? I would think if it was one of those fuses then my circulator would not turn on at all...but I can't get the thing to turn off??? Novice here so any helpful info would be appreciated. Thank you

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,684
    edited January 2020
    do you have a multimeter to measure voltage? How is the L4081 connected to the SR501? I'm guessing with low voltage from R and W on the L4081 to T and T on the SR501

You have contacts that are welded together somewhere. Once you find that you will be able to replace the defective control.

If this is not your wiring setup, then post a picture of the wiring inside the control box covers. Someone here will be able to help you
    Edit: there are lights on the SR501 that will indicate that the power is on and the "Thermostat" is calling for operation. are both lights on? if yes then disconnect one of the low voltage wires connected to the T T on the SR501. if the light goes out and the circulator goes off, then the L4081 is defective. If the circulator keeps running, the SR501 is defective. Depending on the age of the SR501 you may be able to replace the clear plug-in relay (about the size of a small ice cube) newer model SR501 replace the entire control.