Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replace maid o mist, or keep cap tightened?

bubbajoe
bubbajoe Member Posts: 5
I watched some youtube videos on bleeding air from a heating system. A couple of them discussed various parts of the overall system. They showed an automatic air release valve above the expansion tank and pointed out that it is "CRITICAL" that the little cap be loose.

Now...I have no plumbing experience at all so I decided not to try to drain the system to get all the air out. But I did notice our system has a 'maid o mist' automatic vent on top of the 'american air purger' air scoop, which is above the expansion tank. I checked the cap, and it was not loose. I loosened it and got a few little hisses of air, then water streamed out slowly. So, I tightened it back up.

'Researching' the issue brought me here. I've seen many posts on here that suggest all these type of vents will eventually leak, so just tighten the cap.

So, I have two questions:
Should I replace the maid o mist, or just leave the cap tight?
Could this cap being tight, have led to our problem of having gurgling sounds coming from the baseboard registers?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    Oh boy. I presume that your system heats the house with hot water pumped around to various baseboards? Then it is what is called a hot water system.

A few basics. A hot water system has a boiler and, almost always, a pump or pumps to circulate the water through the house. Since water expands when it is heated, it will also have an expansion tank. That expansion tank needs to have some air in it, but how it gets there and stays there is variable.

So... first thing would be a couple of pictures of the expansion tank and the piping and controls in the vicinity of the boiler.