Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Multiple Pressuretrols

Hi,
I will start by saying that I am not a Pro, just a rental owner very interested in steam and trying to educate myself. I would like to ask why larger steam boilers in multi family dwellings have multiple Pressuretrols?? Does the 2 psi. Rule still apply and do you set them all to the same pressure?

Thanks
Bob

Comments

• Rem77
    Rem77 Member Posts: 25
    I have attached a photo of one of my boilers
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    edited November 2019
    Is there a 2 stage burner on this?
    The 2 outer controls are set differently....maybe hi/low fire.
    The one with the red button is a manual reset high limit, most likely required in apartment. This requires someone to visit the boiler to reset and determine why it got that high.
    The lower left one is just another pressure control set higher...
    maybe just redundant to shut off before the manual control would trip.
    I am not sure.....hope someone else has input.

Does the mystery one say "pressuretrol" or "vaporstat"?
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,159