Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat distribution challenge

I'm not a pro, so please excuse my ignorance as I describe this issue. We have a 5-zone hot water radiator system. One of the zones is to a separate guest house which has two floors (both on the same zone). The incoming pipe splits off into two serial loops, one for upstairs and one for downstairs. As it stands, the upstairs gets way hotter than the downstairs, which is undesirable. None of the radiators have valves so I can't regulate the temperature that way. I assume that's because turning one off would turn off the whole loop, like a string of Christmas lights.

Plan A was to split upstairs and downstairs into two separate zones with their own pumps, but while mechanically that would be straightforward, connecting the pumps electrically back to the control panel in the main house would be prohibitively difficult because it all runs underground.

Plan B (quick and dirty) was proposed by heating contractor: he installed a check valve on the upstairs loop as well as a gate valve. He thought the check valve on its own might address what he guessed could be the issue, and adding the gate valve was my suggestion so we could regulate the flow of water into the upstairs loop, or even shut it off completely as a stop gap.