Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Please walk me through how to skim my boiler (WET STEAM) = PICTURES INCLUDED.

Options
tumbz
tumbz Member Posts: 94
Guys, im back. THis is the first time im going to try to skim my boiler. I have an idea on how to do it and i am confident that i can, but can someone please walk me through it step by step. This is my first time and im a total newbie. I hear some banging in the radiator closest to the boiler and im suspecting WET STEAM. It has also been quite a few years since it was skimmed.

I understand that the manual shut off should be partially opened with the hose attached and the boiler semi hot.

Here are pictures of my boiler on both sides. Please tell me which valve i should use to attach the hose to or any other parts i need to buy to make this work.

Please walk me through step by step.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Comments

• tumbz
    Options
    you guys see the relief valve on top with the yellow handle? Can i just unscrew the relief valve where the T is and just skim that way? Take off relief valve and unscrew the end and connect a hose to it. Run boiler till its almost steaming and shut off and partially open the manual water in?

Can anyone give me step by step instructions?

Everywhere i read is only HALF **** instructions. Please walk me through it so i dont make a mistake my first time.

ANYONE?
  • acwagner
    acwagner Member Posts: 505
    edited October 2019
    Options
    I have a similar boiler. I'm sure everyone does it slightly different, but this is what I do.