Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Coconut oil

Grallert
Grallert Member Posts: 644
edited May 2019 in Plumbing
Coconut oil seems very popular these days. How bad is this stuff? I've been fighting it here for a few years now. Solidifies in the pipes and collects everything else that shouldn't be put down a drain. Doesn't snake well unless one's lucky enough to catch another foreign object. Doesn't make it far in our hundred year old cast waste lines. This is just an observation and minor vent here. Nothing I can do about it really until I come up with a tasteful way to mention it to our students and residents. Anyone else finding this an issue?
Miss Hall's School service mechanic, greenhouse manager,teacher and dog walker

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,276
    And not only all that, the production of the stuff is an environmental disaster!
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    HVACNUTGrallert
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,121
    How is it getting into drainage systems, as a beverage? lotions? cooking oil?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • nibs
    nibs Member Posts: 511
    Some vet's wife was proclaiming it as a cure for Alzheimers and sundry other ailments. No science behind the claims and I know one lady who was sure it would cure her, so she refused any treatment that may have actually worked.
    She is in a home now and is only 60 yrs old.
    Best place for it is down the drain.
  • hot_rod
    nibs said:

Some vet's wife was proclaiming it as a cure for Alzheimers and sundry other ailments. No science behind the claims and I know one lady who was sure it would cure her, so she refused any treatment that may have actually worked.