Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Is the Pressure level normal?

olson221
olson221 Member Posts: 4
Hi, I am a newbie. I have a silly question to ask about my Williamson steam boiler. Is it normal that when thermostat calls for heat, the boiler runs abt 10min till pressure hits 5psi and it stop for a few minutes till pressure drops close to 0. And it keep repeating the same way. Is there any way to increase run time to 20min? Such as decreasing anticipating pressure or clean air vent of radiator. Please advice. Thanks a lot.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    No, that is not normal. First off, it should cut off at about 2 psi, not 5 psi. There is a control on the front called a pressuretrol -- most of them are a blue grey box with a scale on it. Could you post a photo of that and we can tell you where it should be set at?

Second, that short a run time indicates that your main vents -- if you have any at all -- are way too small or just not working at all. Can you wander around in your basement and find the steam main or mains, and then look near the end of it (them) and see if there is a vent on there? And take a photo of that and post that. Also, how long are the mains, and what diameter?
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    1Matthias
  • olson221
    Is this the main vent? How do I know if it’s working or not? I know that pressure should really stay constant at 1-2psi while boiler is boiling. Could please you explain why it will stay constant? Don’t pressure keep rising if boiler keep boiling? Unless pressure is releasing somewhere. Why my pressure goes up so fast? In 10min to 5psi.

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,722