Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant System Settings for Maximum Efficiency

I'll state for the record that I'm a newbie. I'm a DIY homeowner. I purchased a radiant system from a company that targets the DIY audience and I installed the system exactly as they instructed me to. The good news is that it works!.....Mostly. But now I'm trying to configure it so it's running as efficiently as possible. So I'm hoping this forum can give me some advice. :smile:

About my setup....
We live in a cold climate (northeastern US). The house is newly built and only 950 square feet total. It has one bedroom, a large main room, and a mudroom (ceilings in main room and bedroom are vaulted). These act as 3 separate zones. The mudroom and bedroom are small enough that I was able to install one continuous pex loop for each of those zones. The main room has four separate loops in it that branch off from a manifold. The layout is so small that I was able to home-run these loops (ie. the source and return manifolds are located right next to the boiler itself).

I have a closed system. The heating unit is only for radiant heating (not used for domestic water at all).

I'm using an American GT-240 (http://www.americanwaterheater.com/residential/tankless/gt-240-nih).

What do I need help with?.....
It's only been in operation for a couple of months. Last night was a cold night. We noticed that the system was not able to maintain the thermostat's set temperature in the rooms (they were 5 degrees colder than set).