Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lochinvar WHN085

MikeJ
MikeJ Member Posts: 103
I'm an HVAC contractor -Steamfitter, put in a lot of Lochinvar boilers. Never any problems.
Had one sitting in the basement for 4 years.
Just put it in my house took out he muchkin boiler

Having problems, The first fault was going off on Outlet Sensor Fault, made sure no air in the system, Check sensor resistance
they check good, put in a new module (made sense) wrong!

Now getting Delta T high, again checked pumps, checked for air, ohm out sensors.

Now I notice before the boiler even lights my delta T reading is jumping all over the place, 6 to 35 to 12 to 20 -4 yes negative 4
Then the boiler lights within a couple secs, delta T jumps up out of range and locks out the boiler,

I already assume the module, we all know what assume means smiley:

Thanks for any help you may have

MIke

Comments

• rick in Alaska
    rick in Alaska Member Posts: 1,457
    I am not sure if it uses the same sensor as the KHN, but they had problems with the temperature sensor on some of them. It is a four wire, duel sensor on the upper part of the tank. Apparently the wires did not get seated right in the manufacturing process and can get loose. I would look at changing that out.
    Rick
    DZoro
  • DZoro
    DZoro Member Posts: 1,048
    Agree with @rick in Alaska , that would be a prime suspect. Had a few of those go bad.
  • MikeJ
    Yep I think @rick in Alaska nail it, restarted the boiler and apply some pressure on the Molex plug and was able to get the buffer tank up to 125 degrees. Then I must of a move and it locked out. Will wait for a few minutes and try again.
    Should get by till tomorrow don't have a sensor.

Have another new Lochinvar sitting the basement from about 10 years ago, lol -not sure if they use the same sensor will wait.