Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

turning off water supply but leaving the boiler on?

bentz69
bentz69 Member Posts: 21
As a new homeowner Im still learning quite a few things. The family and I will be away for 7 days and the tempertures over here are dropping just below freezing at night time now. My home is well insulated.

I have a burnham v84 oil boiler for baseboard heating and hot water. I understand there is no perfect solution but I would like to minimize the potential damage if a pipe were to burst/leak while away if possible. I was curious if I could turn off the main water supply to the house but keep the boiler on. Obvioubly no one would be using the sink/shower/toilet and I will flush the toilets and open up the sinks to let any remaining water out before heading out. I would be leaving the thermostats set to roughly 50-55F so its possible baseboard heating could come on. Is that ok?

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    edited November 2018
    Best would be to have a working low water cut-off. I have a low water cut-off and always have the boiler feed off. I also walk by my boiler twice a day (in and out) and look at the pressure gauge.
    Water pipe break/leak can do considerable damage in minutes/hours.
    Other options would be a freeze alarm and/or take advantage of the dry (alarm) contacts on most modern primary controls, and even have someone stop by and check.
    For vacation I also shut off water main and gas into house, but leave on gas supply to generator.
    steve
    Gordy
  • Leon82
    Leon82 Member Posts: 684
    I have mine off. Observe it for a few weeks after you turn it off make sure the pressure is staying the same.
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited November 2018