Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Taco, Grundfos and Wilo circulators

Options
After 40 years in the business, you would think I had a favorite circulator by now. It used to be Taco and then I switched to Grundfos and I've been using them for many years, but I've gotten fed up with the flimsy speed selector and want to try something else. Wilo pumps are not well represented out West; none of my suppliers stock them, but I can get them online and I like the way they are made. If you use Wilo pumps, are you happy with them?
8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab

Comments

• LouisFournier
    LouisFournier Member Posts: 5
    Options
    Taco makes the best circulator. I'm in Maine which means our heating is basically from Labor Day to Memorial day. Wilo comes and goes grunfos is good but does not stand up. I really like the OOE which is an ECM type circ
    SteveSan
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,432
    Options
    I have used Wilo a few times.
    Good and bad results. Overall ok. I do like the way the gaskets seal up.
    Buying online has it drawbacks as I found from a popular supplier.
    I had a Wilo S21 go bad after 6 months and The warranty process was a pain. I would have had to pay shipping to return it. From then on I have stayed w/ Grundfos and Taco.
    tamosius
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,143
    Options
    B&G has some nice options in the Vario line of ECMs. The PL series is a nice dry rotor style

Armstrong and AquaMotion are other options
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
    Options
    Just what I need: more choices. : )

I know nothing about dry rotor circulators. Please tell me more.