Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Advice On Whether To Keep or Replace Existing Hydronic System's Boiler

PGB1
PGB1 Member Posts: 77
Hello All!
I an new to this group and am writing to ask for some input to assist me in deciding whether or not to replace my existing boiler. Each spring I think about this, but haven't done anything yet. I'd hate to be without heat due to a winter failure, but I'd not like to discard a boiler if it is expected to last longer. My wife and do not know how long we will remain at this house. Our guess is it will be about 5 or 10 years until we're too old to maintain it and have to go.

My background experience is that I'm a master electrician by trade (Industrial & commercial is my only experience- I never could learn residential. Those guys work magic! ).
I got lucky- the company I worked at assigned me to work in tandem with some of the heating, cooling, pipe fitting & plumbing tradespeople for many years. I learned quite a bit about hydronics and refrigeration during that time. We were fortunate that we could actually work together and we each learned from, and sometimes apprenticed to, the other. I learned enough to get a mechanical contractor's license and a plumbing journeyman's card. But, I have not practiced in those fields for over 10 years, so my knowledge is fading fast. (As is everything else at my age...)

I apologize that the post is going to be long, but I thought it wise to provide as many system & equipment details as possible.

What I Have At My House-