Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Water Heater Leaking

Hi,

My hot water heater just started leaking. It leaks about a drip every ten seconds or so. I have zero experience with water heaters. Is there anything I can try to save the $$ of hiring a pro? If not, how dangerous is it to have a leaking water heater and how soon should I get the problem solved?

Thanks in advanced

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    Where, exactly, is it leaking from? Some leaks are simple -- such as the drain valve. Or a little less simple. Some are real warnings of danger -- like the pressure relief valve dripping (if it is, kindly go and turn the water heater off before you come back and answer).

But one would have to know where the leak is from... I might add that I've never known a leak to get smaller with time.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    chaznied
  • unclejohn
    unclejohn Member Posts: 1,833
    If it's over 13 years get a new one.
    chaznied
  • chaznied
    chaznied Member Posts: 39
    Hi Jamie,

Thanks for your reply, I'm not sure where it's coming from other than the bottom of the heater itself. How can I be sure my son and I aren't in danger?
  • chaznied
    not sure how old, just bought the house 1.5 years ago
  • chaznied
    okay, it's 15 years old
  • Jamie Hall
    Danger is probably -- thought not certainly -- minimal. I take it the temperature of the hot water is reasonable?

That said -- any leaks from around the bottom of the heater really aren't repairable. I'd get a new one as soon as I could. It's not difficult.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    chaznied
  • Larry Weingarten