Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Monoflo system help / flow from both tees..?

WirePro_joe
WirePro_joe Member Posts: 12
edited September 2017 in Radiant Heating
What I have: Monoflow system, black iron main loop 1", old convector radiators piped 1/2" copper w/ small bleeders.

What I did: Disconnected hallway convector to relocate to opposite wall (in order to take down
existing wall) and relocated main loop pipe (offset over 12" to go behind new basement wall I built).

So as the name suggest, I am not a plumber I am an electrician. I've done some basic plumbing over the years and some in (vocational) high school. I understand the basics of monoflo systems thanks to sites like this. Here's the issue. Instead of reusing the old convector, I bought and installed a Myson Contractor Series radiator. They say it will work well on a monoflo system. The bottom of the radiator has a twin entry bypass valve shown here:

I have a regular tee on the supply side of the main loop and a monoflo on the return side in 1 1/4" copper. 1/2" pex to the new rad. I can't get any flow through the new myson rad. All the other rad's in the house were bled and work great still.

On the supply side of the twin entry valve, if I close the return side and open the supply side, water will come out of the bleeder and the rad will get hot. If I close the supply side and open the return side, hot water will come out of the bleeder as well. It seems like I have hot water coming from both sides. How is this possible?

The twin entry bypass valve does have a bypass adjustment in the center of it. Doesn't seem to do anything.

The picture above shows the new mono tees. As you look at it, water is flowing from right to left. The tee on the right is regular and the tee on the left is the mono.