Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Adding radiant zone to two-pipe direct return

Options
farnja
farnja Member Posts: 13
edited September 2017 in Radiant Heating
Hi Everyone - This forum has been extremely helpful for me as a total novice. Thanks for all the contributions.

I recently purchased an old house with a two pipe, direct return, hot water heat system and we're making some changes that will require new heating solutions.

I would like to:
1. Add a radiant floor zone.
2. Remove or move an existing radiator.

I am pretty confident with the design of the radiant module (or will be once I iron out integration) but would like to make sure I am on the right track with how to integrate into our existing plumbing.

Current Layout: ( I apologise, I'm sure some of my symbols are incorrect).
- Orange radiator to be moved/removed.
- Red circles are available ports to tie in new zones.

Based on my research, it seems a major concern with mixing radiant flooring and other types of radiant heat is protecting the boiler from cold return temperatures. It seems that primary-secondary pumping is the best solution for this.

In addition, I've gotten feedback from pros that trying to move a radiator and then tie it back into the existing system is very difficult. The existing cast iron and steel pipes are 100 years old; who knows how they will react. They've suggested removing the radiator and capping the existing lines. If I still need the radiator's output, they suggest that adding something via a separate zone is much cleaner.

Given the above...
Proposed Layout:

A few questions:

1. Am I on the right track? Can I keep it simpler? Looks like I'll be adding several hundred feet of PEX, 3 circulators, and a whole bunch of valves, joints, etc that I haven't included - let alone the manifold(s) and other radiant material.