Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

rusty "new" gas boiler?

yuli_osu
yuli_osu Member Posts: 3
Hi, my HVAC contractor is installing a new Weil-Mclain GV90+4 natural gas boiler in my house. But when the box was opened, the back of the boiler looks very rusty. Please see attached photos for the rusty part and the CP number in the back.

Is this kind of rusty condition normal for a new unit?

I have read online that rusty exchange is the worst enemy of a gas boiler.

I am a new customer of Weil-Mclain gas boiler. Thank you in advance for your help!

Comments

• MilanD
    MilanD Member Posts: 1,160
    To note: I'm not a pro but have had to deal with a boiler by WM. Section that we got after one was being replaced was also a bit more on the rusty side, but it was all surface rust and nothing structural. As long as integrity is fine, surface rust won't hurt it.

Before this gets any farther along with the install, if it were me, I would call the distributor to come out and see this. Better safe than sorry. What does your installer say? Some rust is normal on these as they may sit around for a while and they are cast iron. Although there usually is some oil left over from casting, rusting should not be extensive. This to me looks like excessive rusting, and maybe even bad casting. I would not believe the casting is bad as there is quality control (hopefully) on these before they go out, but from the photo it also looks like there is a large crack along the top edge. Maybe it's the photo. Get the distributor to come out and take a look. Crack is a no-no.
    yuli_osu
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,419
    Its all part of the casting process. All cast iron boilers have that rusty look to the surface.
    yuli_osu
  • unclejohn
    unclejohn Member Posts: 1,833