Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Dual system

I am not a professional plumber, although , have been exposed to a fair amount of plumbing work. I did plumb my house, but, certainly do not claim to be an expert! I have a Buderas Boiler with a logomatic control. Previous summers , after home heating season, I have heated my domestic hot water with an indirect off my boiler. I use about 250 gals of oil per summer for this purpose. I have solar panels on my roof. In an effort to move some hot water expense to electric, I have purchased an electric heat pump hot water heater. I am finding the heat pump electric heater cannot handle my demands affordably. I was considering letting the heat pump unit act as a "preheat" tank feeding the indirect 110 - 115 degree water instead of 47 degree well water. Will this save any appreciable amount off the 250 gals of fuel oil consumption. Since my boiler would still be my source , I assume it will still have to maintain temperature, thus burning oil. The question is ...will "topping off" the heat of the already hot water reduce the boiler fuel consumption?

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,021
    Where abouts are you located? What size family and how many solar collectors do you have?

Properly sized solar should, could handle most of your DHW loads in the summer.

Usually solar is designed to a 40- 50% solar fraction SF. Meaning the solar would cover 40- 50% of the DHW needs.
    Winter moths it drops off, summer may see 90- 100% DHW.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • wayneschiller
    wayneschiller Member Posts: 5
    I do not have solar, hot water collectors. My solar is Photovoltaic. That's why , as I explained, I was trying to take advantage of this electric heat pump unit?
  • Jamie Hall