Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Looking for confirmation on a DIY Installation

Hi all!
Newbie here, apologies in advance for my lack of expertise. Your site has been invaluable to me while I attempt to become an amateur internet plumber in order to build out my radiant system (don't worry I'm not installing it myself). There's so much internet advice and there's not always a unanimous consensus on the way to do things. Here's the details of my set up:

Zones: 2 (4 loops in the slab downstairs, 4 loops stapled up to the second floor, with plates)
Boiler: Navien NCB 150E. I also purchased the Navien Primary Manifold

Here's my amateur drawing:

Couple questions on my mind:
- What am I missing? Do I need a better way to purge beyond what the pre-assembled primary loop provides? Maybe for each zone? Where should I insert that if need be?
- Upstairs, there is 1 loop that did not quite make it to 300ft. It's more like 200ft. Do I need a flow meter on all the loops in that zone to correct that, or just the short loop? Or do I need to be worried about that at all?
- Any issues foreseen with using Ecobee thermostats?

Any advice would be welcome! Thanks!!

Comments

• JohnNY
    JohnNY Member Posts: 3,226
    There's nothing in that piping to influence return water to flow through the boiler. You've got to redo your return manifold. What you've got there isn't going to work.
    Contact John "JohnNY" Cataneo, NYC Master Plumber, Lic 1784
    Consulting & Troubleshooting
    Heating in NYC or NJ.
    Classes
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    The boiler has an internal circ for the primary loop.

You have added a loop that is not necessary nor does it have any means of circulating.
    You should pipe it like page 30 in the I&O manual http://us.navien.com/Product/Page1/Details/NCB-150E?Category=NCB-E series