Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiator paint smell never goes away

Dear folks,

Forgive me if this has been discussed on the forum before, but my family and I are in a bit of bind. I am a pastor and live with my daughter and wife in the church apartment. It's a 1926 building with original boiler, radiators, and windows. In February a company came and did some lead remediation, which included stripping and repainting radiators. The radiators stank for weeks. At about the same time, we discovered multiple leaks in our boiler. The abatement company said we needed to run the boiler for 24 hours to burn off the paint smell--but we couldn't do it because our boiler needed repair. We finished that repair just before the cold came, and now we are finishing the burn they company asked us to do.

The issue is really that these radiators offgas so much we can't even sleep in our bedrooms--and it's been months since they were painted.

These are my questions:
1. Should we even have painted the radiators? They are giant, original cast iron radiators, some over 12 sections.
2. Should we even have done this 24-hour burn?
3. Is the best thing to do just to replace the radiators?
4. What's the expert advice? I'm a pastor, so I can do all kinds of wonderful things, but none of them have anything to do with maintenance, especially steam heat maintenance. My parishioners are also at a loss. Help!

John

Comments

• Abracadabra
    Abracadabra Member Posts: 1,948
    What kind of paint was used? Normally offgassing should dissipate after a few weeks even with regular spray paint from a can.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170