Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

My Vitodens 100 was just installed and it will not shut off regardless of thermostat setting

Hello all,

I am new to this boiler stuff, thanks for taking the time to read this and share your thoughts.

I have a brand new Vitodens 100 and DHW kit and I'm just curious how you guys would set it up with in floor heat closed loop?

1) Does my in floor circ pump have to be on 24/7? I find that a waste of energy, but maybe I'm wrong. Right now it's on constantly. Groundfos 3 setting pump.

2) Right now the boiler seems to be firing constantly and the circ pump runs constantly, the thermostat is set to room temperature 20C and it shows actual room temp at 23.5C and the slab sensor temp is showing 24.0C! Yet everything keeps on humming and heat is increasing in slab. I tried turning down the thermostat as low as it would go and it eventually said OFF, yet the boiler and circ pump continue... my installer is telling me to give it more time and that the boiler will run frequently to keep hot water ready for the DHW. Is this required? I was under the impression this was all on-demand, it will boil water, when something calls for it?

Thank you,
Bill

Comments

• CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    edited February 2016
    Minimum modulation rate of the Vitodens 100 is 37,000 Btu/hr. What's the heat loss of the home? What's the radiant load? What is the boiler set to as far as the heating curve? In other words, what is the dial on the right set to? Is the outdoor sensor hooked up? Has the comfort function been switch on? The comfort function will make sure the heat exchanger in the CombiPlus maintains temperature to provide hot water quickly. Is the boiler piped direct or did the installer use the Low Loss Header? Pictures please.