Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Should I get a Lochinvar boiler or an HTP? cannot decide

guest1
guest1 Member Posts: 2
I am need of a new boiler...mine is over 30 yrs old. I have had a number of estimates. I have it narrowed down to
the Lochinvar Knight WHN085 and the HTP ELite FT 80. I am trying to make the best decision. Has anyone had problems with these 2 boilers? thx

Comments

• Heat_n_CT
    Heat_n_CT Member Posts: 64
    I've got the WHN055, little brother to the 085. Be sure you need the 085, don't let them talk you into the bigger size 'just to be sure". It was like pulling teeth to get my 055 installed. They removed a 58K, but their excuse was the water tank was 30K. Moral of the story, get a handle on your heat loss before you do anything.

I am just a homeowner and I have no experience with the HTP, but I love the Loch...many hours of entertainment the lat two seasons. And the house is toasty warm with very low bills.
    Zman
  • Tinman
    Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
    I've installed both and you can't go wrong with either. You're safe either way you go. Now, find a contractor to match the quality of the equipment.
    Steve Minnich
    njtommyRich_49
  • Paul48
    Paul48 Member Posts: 4,469
    How many sq/ft is the house, and what year was it built? I'll second the sizing caution, and warn you about micro-zoning.
  • Chester
    Chester Member Posts: 83
    edited February 2016
    Same as above...Don't make the mistake of focusing on the quality of the boiler instead of proper sizing, installation and using a contractor you can count on for warranty and service. Personally I think the latter is the most important -- choose the contractor and then go with the boiler they like the best.