Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Do I need to lock off the radiator in the thermostat room of a rental? How?

Jells
Jells Member Posts: 566
A tenant of this single pipe steam 4 unit rowhouse was complaining of an over hot bedroom. I changed the port in the vent to a much smaller one, but she said it was still hot unless it was really cold out. I recently had reason to visit the 2nd floor apartment with the thermostat, and they had turned off the rad in the living room with the thermostat. No wonder the heat was wacky. Seems to me I either need to tell them "tough, it stays on" or let them lower the thermostat till that room is comfortable (it was cycling between 70 & 74 last I studied it) and then try and balance the system. As is, at least half the rads in the units are off, probably because they found it too hot in those rooms that were straining to heat the thermostat room with no heat.

If every Maid of the Mist vent is identical but for the port, why can't I buy a bag of assorted ports instead of having to buy new valves?

Comments

• New England SteamWorks
    New England SteamWorks Member Posts: 1,505
    First things first: The room with the thermostat cannot have it's radiator shut off. Nothing will work in that situation. You can buy a Honeywell thermostat with a remote sensor and place just the sensor in the apartment and the thermostat in the boiler room if the tenant is an issue.

Then you need to balance the system.
    New England SteamWorks
    Service, Installation, & Restoration of Steam Heating Systems
    newenglandsteamworks.com
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    This is one of those applications where ODR controlled time cycling of the boiler (Heat-Timer, Taco, EcoSteam) really makes sense IMO.
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476